Yaremko-Ridley Park with Bug Suits

Date hiked: September 2019
Area: Milton
Bruce Trail distance: 4.9 km
Difficulty: Easy
Terrain: Fairly flat, with a nice long boardwalk at the beginning
Parking: Road parking off Twiss Rd.

We had a really busy weekend planned, filled with errands, play dates, meetings, and birthday parties, but the Hubs really wanted to get a hike in and finish off the section that needed to be connected in Milton.

So we left our house at 6:45 am to drive to our hiking spot. The weather was still cool, and glad we brought our bug suits this time. They weren’t as nasty as last time, but they were still hungry for human blood.

I can’t say that the bug suit is comfortable to hike in. The hood is what bothers me the most. The mesh hood messes up my hair and it’s hard to brush the hair out of my face when it’s covered. The Hubs told me to wear a cap under the mesh hood so that the brim will hold the hood away from my face and keep my hair in place. But I find that it reduces my peripheral vision and everything seems to be so much darker. I haven’t found a happy medium.

The hike itself was quite enjoyable and easy. We sped through it pretty quickly. Lately, the girls have been into stories, so the Hubs tell this long convoluted made-up story about fairies and princesses to entertain the girls while we hike. They complain a lot less this way.

Leave a comment